weekly photo challenge: half-light (a line-storm song)

storm clouds over the Haute Allier
storm clouds over the Haute Allier

The line-storm clouds fly tattered and swift,
The road is forlorn all day,
Where a myriad snowy quartz stones lift,
And the hoof-prints vanish away.
The roadside flowers, too wet for the bee,
Expend their bloom in vain.
Come over the hills and far with me,
And be my love in the rain.

from A Line-Storm Song by Robert Frost

Today’s post is a two for the price of one. The prompt for the Weekly Photo Challenge this week is ‘half-light’, and we are asked to share a relevant photograph inspired by some lines of verse or a song lyric. As I’m publishing it on a Monday, it’s also one of my occasional series of Monday Verse posts. Now there’s value!

The day was fine and dry when I took this photograph of ominous storm clouds gathering over the Allier valley. The bad weather did indeed head my way, but I managed to finish my walk and get home without getting wet.

The poem is mainly because I love the love the last two lines. So much meaning packed into so few words, which I suppose is what poetry is all about.

Find more half-light images, and the lines that inspired them, over on The Daily Post blog.

3 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: half-light (a line-storm song)

  1. Lovely shot of the clouds rolling by the mountain. Good to hear that you didn’t get wet. But if you did, I’m sure that walk would have been worth it for a view like that 😀

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.